No-Fault Auto Insurance
We’ve all heard of it, right? We know that the great state of Minnesota is a, “No-fault state”, but do drivers really know what no-fault pertains to? In Minnesota, no-fault insurance is mandatory. You cannot operate a vehicle without no-fault coverage. All car owners must maintain limits of $20,000 for bodily injury and another $20,000 for loss of wages. These two coverages come from your own policy and you don’t have to be operating a vehicle in order for coverage to kick in (more on that in a later post). I’m forgetting something, right? What about property damage to another vehicle?
Property damage to another vehicle or any other type of property is not subject to no-fault laws. That’s right, if you’re side-swiped by a negligent texting teen, you bet your hashtag it’s their fault. The reason why these claims are often times covered by your insurance company when you’re not at fault is due to the fact that you may have not had any unbiased witnesses or a policy report to back you up.
With regards to auto accidents, always exchange insurance & driver information and snap a photo of the other driver’s auto ID card & license if you can. Calling the police and obtaining a police report can also help you and your insurance company collect adequate insurance monies in the event the property damage you just sustained was truly not your fault!